Veggie Update

Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Tomatoes Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011
Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Ridgewood Queens Backyard Garden 2011 Japanese turnips, beets, cucumbers and string beans Kale and cabbage

Garden Update, a set on Flickr.

I am thrilled with how things are going so far…and extremely grateful to Mel’s Mix and the small fortune I spent on vermiculite.

First: The Tomatoes
The seedlings I started in March are now four feet tall. Since I had little faith in my ability to grow and nurture new plants from scratch, I sowed about three times as many seeds as I thought I needed. I guess my thumb is greener than I thought – I now have close to 20 plants! My full fledged tomato nursery includes four varieties: Ananas Noire, Pantano Romanesco, Black Elephant and Chadwick Cherry. I see a lot of little blossoms and am expecting tiny fruit any day now. Bees – get to work!

Next: The Peppers
I am also growing peppers – Traditional Cayenne and Pepperoncini. Like the tomatoes, I over planted.  Except I don’t think I transplanted these plants fast enough – they’ve started to produce big peppers already but the plants themselves are still pretty small. I have them in 2-3 gallon terra cotta pots.

Third: The Greens
My lettuce and kale are too beautiful to eat. I’ve been picking off a leaf or two to nibble here and there, but mostly I just want to stand back and admire.

The first variety (the largest in the picture) is Lettuce de Morges Braun, which I planted because of its bad-ass name. It’s supposed to develop a reddish, pinky hue, but mine is still green. I had some in a BLT for lunch today and it was delicious.

I also planted Oak Leaf Lettuce,  regular old Romaine and Lollo Rossa. (I see a lot of Caesar Salads in my future.) Next to that is a ton of arugula, which is my favorite green, and some spinach.

I am also growing Tuscan Black Kale, which I think is far tastier than Siberian, as well as a few cabbages. Not sure what to do with those cabbages…but they are definitely cute.

Last: In Development
The other two planters house chives, Danvers carrots and Cosmic Purple carrots, watermelon, Emerald Gem melon, cucumbers, string beans, beets and  Japanese turnips (which are spicy like radishes and delicious).

Things are really coming along! Last year I didn’t begin until the end of June, and I am really happy I got a head start this time around by sowing some seeds indoors. I can finally take a bit of a breather and sit back and watch things grow, though I do have to build my trellises for the cucumbers and melons as well as think about what other crops I want to plant for a fall harvest.

Leave a Reply

