Garden Update


It was really hot. Then it was really rainy. Now it is really busy at work. And, truth be told, I have been neglecting the garden. There are so many things that have to get done. And they need to happen this week!

I desperately need to build proper trellises for the cucumbers and melons. Then I need to focus, focus, focus on my tomatoes so they start producing fruit. And, last but not least, I need to figure out what I am going to plant to replace all of the greens and turnips I have been harvesting. I hate having “bald spots” in the planters.

My melons are taking off, which is really exciting. The kale and lettuce have been strong performers, too. My favorite so far has been the arugula. Last summer I planted it late and harvested it in July, and it was really bitter and almost impossible to eat without drenching it in dressing. This year, it is definitely sharp and peppery, but the flavor is not overpowering. We’ve been mixing it with a little lemon juice, some olive oil and slices of Ricotta salata.

I have a lot of ideas about what will replace these tasty crops, but no definite plans yet. For the fall harvest, I’d like to try broccoli, cauliflower, and Brussels sprouts, but I think it’s a little too early to start sowing them now. I might plant another quick batch of greens and maybe some radishes in the interim.

3 responses to “Garden Update

  1. Plant some carrots or beets – they can still be sown for awhile. You can also put in more melon – or pumpkins!

    I built a bamboo trellis at the Duke gardens to years ago – here are the instructions. I’ve put one in at one of the school gardens in Cambridge too:

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Bamboo-Tomato-Trellis/

    • Hi Kellyn, I AM planting carrots (Danvers and Atomic Purple) as well as beets (Detroit Red). The carrots are with the kale. And the beets are next to the turnips.

      Corn is a lot of work. Maybe next year.

      I’m going to show mark your trellis. He is building mine today!

  2. Put in corn! (and i meant two – not to)

Leave a Reply

