New Blooms

Nasturtium (Tropaeolum)While vegetables are my main focus this year, I also planted a few types of flowers to attract bees and add some color. There is no rhyme or reason to my selection and arrangement – I just tossed a bunch of seeds around to see what would grow. But once I get the whole vegetable garden thing down, I’d love to actually “curate” my flower beds.

Baby's Breath (Gypsophila)This is gypsophila – aka baby’s-breath – which came from a giant bag of Burpee Wildflower Mix (the Hummingbird & Butterfly edition).

California poppy (Eschscholzia californica)Here is a California poppy.

California poppy (Eschscholzia californica)Their petals close at night and open up during the day.

Pink Flower - Zinnia ?This pink beauty is a mystery flower, though I think it might be a type of zinnia.

Purple Flower - Petunia And I believe this is a petunia, although I’m not sure where it came from. I don’t recall seeing it listed among the flowers in the Burpee mix, and I definitely did not plant any petunia seeds. But now that it’s here, it’s welcome to stay.

Morning gloryThis is a perennial morning glory – a left over from Hedwig’s garden or maybe it crept over from a neighbor’s yard. It grows fast, far and wide, and chokes everything in its path. I’ve already cut a few of them back.

Nasturtium (Tropaeolum)I had to relocate the nasturtiums twice because my dogs kept trampling their delicate leaves and petals.

ZinniasThese party colored zinnias were started inside under grow lights in February.

Forget-me-notsSo were these forget-me-knots

Lamb's ear
My dad gave me this lamb’s-ear from his garden in Pennsylvania. It suffered last summer (supposedly the hottest on record) and never blossomed, but this year it’s thriving and has already developed really tall stalks. The bees love it.

MarigoldsAnd finally, marigolds. Before I had a garden, I cast off marigolds as a “grandma” flower. But last year, on a whim, I picked up a packet of marigold seeds at the Associated on Seneca Ave and decided to give them a try. They blossomed into a giant marigold bush and won me over by virtue of being so easy to care for. I also discovered that their coloring can be much more complex than what I remember seeing growing up – not just “blah” yellow and orange, but lots of rich and variegated tones.

2 responses to “New Blooms

  1. put the marigolds near your tomatoes! Companion planting.

    • TX — That’s exactly where they are! Right next to them, but not in the same planter. Do they have to be sharing the dirt?

      BTW – I have tomatoes growing in places where I used the worm castings. Has this happened to you? They are randomly growing among the flowers outside of the planters. And I also grew a cucumber plant from worm castings.

Leave a Reply

