Daily Archives: June 19, 2011

Killer Kale & Rogue Tomatoes

Ridgewood Queens GardenIt was a lovely weekend to be in the garden. We made some progress on our trellises. (Actually, my boyfriend made some progress on our trellises while I danced around and pestered him.) They should be ready to install tomorrow, which is good because my cucumbers are really sprawling.

Tuscan Black KaleWith no other major projects, I was able to focus on weeding, fertilizing and harvesting. Tonight we are going to eat this gigantic head of kale.

AffenpinschersMy two little garden helpers were also out and about. Harry and Lucy – our Affenpinchers (aka “The Beasts”) – love to trample through the flowers and dig in the dirt.

Rogue TomatoesAnd while doing my rounds today, I noticed at least five new rogue tomato plants that have grown from seeds left over in the worm castings taken from our vermicompost bin.

Rogue Tomatoes
I used the castings to fertilize the soil where I planted some flowers, and I thought the tomatoes were just another variety of marigold until today. But there is no denying it – they are definitely tomatoes. And now that they’re over a foot tall, I don’t have the heart to yank them out.

Who knows? Maybe they’ll outperform my giant tomato trees in the back planters. They’ll be getting a lot of help from the marigolds (a companion plant to tomatoes) a few inches away. I’m also really curious to see what kind of fruit we get.