Harvesting

Harry - my Harvest Helper - with Letuce and Turnips I am finding it a little difficult to keep up with all of my chores these days…if only I could quit my job and become a full-time gardener. Regular maintenance is fine, but I have some major projects that keep getting sidelined (still working on those trellises!), and getting out the door by 7 and home again at 8 or 9 has cut my garden time down to a precious 15-30 minutes a day.

LettucesOur harvests, however, have been really great. With so much arugula, lettuce and kale, I haven’t had to buy any vegetables in a little over three weeks.

Strawberries and Cayenne Peppers
The strawberries have been – I admit – a little puny and tart. But I grew them, so they still make me proud. The cayenne peppers are nice to mix into my breakfast egg tacos. I pick some green and let the rest mature to red.

Japanese Turnips
My first crop of Japanese turnips.

Japanese Turnip Pickles
I made them into refrigerator pickles.

Arugula
The arugula has started to bolt, so we’ve been gobbling it up before it becomes inedible. Salads every day this week…

2 responses to “Harvesting

  1. Nice photo – looks delicious!

  2. What is harry eating from the garden? Cat t*rds?

Leave a Reply

